Depth decides which 10-inch rack you should buy, and most listings bury it under the U count. Most DeskPi RackMates share the same 281 mm wide footprint, so your real choice is between the 200 mm deep frames that take mini PCs and a switch, and the 260 mm deep frames that also swallow a 2-bay NAS. Pick the wrong depth and your Synology hangs out the back of a rack you just paid for.
We compared the frames themselves: the DeskPi RackMate T0, T1, T1 Plus, TL1 and T2 (sold on Amazon under the GeeekPi storefront), plus the DIGITUS 6U wall cabinet and a few others that didn’t make the cut. You get U height, external size, usable width, depth and the shelf load each maker actually publishes, then a fit table for popular mini PCs and NAS units. If you already own a frame, the 10-inch mini rack build guide covers layout and parts. Prices and stock below were checked on Amazon in October 2026.
Quick picks: the best 10-inch rack for each build
If you only read one section, read this one. Each pick is matched to the deepest or tallest thing you plan to put in it, because that is what rules a frame in or out.
- Best overall, mini PCs plus a 2-bay NAS: DeskPi RackMate T1 Plus, 8U and 260 mm deep, about $140.
- Best value for height: DeskPi RackMate TL1, a 10U open frame that takes 260 mm trays, about $80.
- Best for mini PCs and a switch only: DeskPi RackMate T1, the 8U original at 200 mm deep, about $120.
- Best on a desk with little room: DeskPi RackMate T0, 4U, under $75.
- Best for growing past four nodes: DeskPi RackMate T2, 12U and 260 mm deep, about $150.
- Best wall mount with a rated load: DIGITUS DN-10-06U-B, a 6U steel cabinet rated for 30 kg, about $56.
For a first mini rack, we would buy the T1 Plus. You pay about $20 more than for the plain T1 and get 60 mm of extra depth. That depth is the difference between a rack that takes a NAS later and one that never will.
10-inch mini racks compared: U height, depth and shelf load
All of these frames use the standard 10-inch hole spacing of 236.525 mm. So the panels, shelves and patch panels from the 10-inch rack accessories guide fit any of them, as long as the shelf depth matches. External sizes are width x depth x height from the DeskPi wiki and the DIGITUS datasheet, and prices are Amazon’s in late October 2026.
Check the live price before you buy, because these listings move: the T0 sat at $71.99 against a $79.99 list price when we looked, and DeskPi’s own store undercut Amazon on most models.
| Rack | U | External W x D x H (mm) | Width between rails | Shelf depth | Published load | Price band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DeskPi RackMate T0 | 4U | 281 x 200 x 274 | 222 mm (internal) | 200 mm | none | ~$70 to $80 |
| DeskPi RackMate T1 | 8U | 281 x 200 x 451 (with handles) | not stated | 200 mm | none | ~$110 to $120 |
| DeskPi RackMate T1 Plus | 8U | 281 x 260 x 418 (451 with handles) | 212 mm | 260 mm | none | ~$120 to $140 |
| DeskPi RackMate T1/2 Plus | 6U | 281 x 260 x 330 (363 with handles) | 212 mm | 260 mm | none | ~$100 to $110 |
| DeskPi RackMate TL1 | 10U | 272 x 272 x 465 (498 with handles) | 222 mm | 260 mm (T2 trays) | none | ~$70 to $80 |
| DeskPi RackMate T2 | 12U | 281 x 260 x 596 (629 with handle) | 212 mm | 260 mm | none | ~$150 |
| DIGITUS DN-10-06U-B | 6U | 312 x 300 x 330 | 10-inch rails, 240 mm max install depth | adjustable rails | 30 kg | ~$55 to $60 |
| Waveshare HomeRack 8U | 8U | 284 x 203 x 461 (with handles and feet) | 223 mm opening | not specified (179 mm body) | none | ~$170 |
Read the load column twice. DeskPi publishes no weight rating for any RackMate frame. The closest it gets is a line on the T1 store listing saying the 10 mm die-cast aluminium frame “can withstand heavy IT equipment such as UPS and NAS.” Its shelves are a different story: DeskPi rates the RackMate 0.5U Heavy Duty Rack Shelf, in both the T0/T1 and the T2 depth, at 25 kg.
DIGITUS is the only maker here that prints a number for the whole cabinet, 30 kg, and that’s why it gets a pick despite being a plain steel box. If you plan to put a small UPS in a RackMate, sit it on the 25 kg heavy-duty shelf rather than a standard tray, and keep it at the bottom of the frame, because the frame itself has no rating you can lean on.
Width matters less than it looks. Jeff Geerling’s Project Mini Rack puts the practical clearance between 10-inch rails at about 210 mm and the absolute maximum at around 220 mm. Every frame with a published rail width clears 210 mm. DeskPi gives no figure for the T1. A device 196 mm wide fits all of them. Anything past 210 mm leans on the extra 10 mm of the TL1 (222 mm) or the Waveshare (223 mm opening), so measure before you count on it.
Where the numbers come from
Dimensions, internal widths and model codes come from the DeskPi RackMate wiki and the DeskPi store. DIGITUS figures come from its manufacturer datasheet, and Waveshare’s from the dimension drawing on its product page. Prices, stock and review counts are from Amazon’s own catalogue on 31 October 2026. Device sizes in the fit table come from the maker’s spec page where one lists them; the rows marked with an asterisk come from reviews because the maker lists no dimensions.
Several frames were looked at and left out. Tecmojo’s 6U desktop rack (about $70) copies the RackMate’s handles and acrylic sides, but Tecmojo publishes no spec sheet, so its depth and load can’t be checked. ServeTheHome’s review of the Kenuco SOHO 6U found a one-sided shelf bracket, mismatched keys and an Allen key that fit none of the hardware.
NavePoint’s 6U glass-door cabinet costs about $174, three times the DIGITUS, and its specs exist only on reseller pages. One trap shows up in “10 inch open frame” searches too. VEVOR’s 10U open frame is a 19-inch rack that happens to be 10U tall, so read the width before you click buy.
1. DeskPi RackMate T1 Plus
The T1 Plus wins because it fixes the one thing wrong with the original T1. You keep the 8U height and the same 281 mm footprint, the depth grows from 200 mm to 260 mm, and DeskPi lists 212 mm between the rails.
Those extra 60 mm let a Synology DS224+ (232 mm deep) or a UGREEN DXP2800 (231 mm) sit on a shelf inside the frame instead of poking out the back. A Minisforum MS-01 also gets room for its rear cables, which matters because that box is 189 mm deep and leaves almost nothing spare on a 200 mm tray. DeskPi says the frame takes two 120 mm or four 80 mm fans, so you can pull air through a NAS rather than hope convection does it.
- Pick it if: you want mini PCs now and a 2-bay NAS later, in one frame.
- Where it falls short: 8U fills up fast once a NAS takes five of them, and it needs 260 mm shelves, not the 200 mm T1 ones.
Amazon had it at about $140 in October 2026, against $119 on DeskPi’s own store, so check both. If 8U is more than you need, DeskPi’s 6U RackMate T1/2 Plus has the same 260 mm depth and 212 mm rail width in a 330 mm tall frame for about $99 direct. The 6U GeeekPi listings on Amazon do not name the model, so we’d buy that one from DeskPi.
2. DeskPi RackMate TL1
For the least money per unit of height and depth, nothing beats the TL1. You get a 10U bare aluminium frame, 272 x 272 mm on the desk, with 222 mm between the rails, at roughly the price of the 4U T0.
For shelf depth it behaves like a T1 Plus or T2, because it takes the same 260 mm RackMate T2 trays, so a 2-bay NAS fits and a 4-bay one gets no extra room. What you gain is height: two more units than the T1 Plus for about $60 less. The 222 mm rail opening also gives a little slack for a switch or mini PC that runs close to the 210 mm planning width.
No trays come in the box, though. DeskPi ships the TL1 with tray brackets only, so add at least one or two T2 trays to the order.
- Pick it if: you want 10U and 260 mm shelves on a budget, and the rack lives out of sight.
- Where it falls short: no side panels, so dust and curious pets get straight in, and the “about $80” sticker excludes the trays.
At about $80 on Amazon in October 2026, it costs less than the 8U T1. If you are building in a closet or a cupboard where nobody sees it, this is the frame we would buy.
3. DeskPi RackMate T1
Most mini rack builds start from the T1, and it is still the right buy if your deepest device is a mini PC. You get 8U of die-cast aluminium with translucent acrylic sides, 281 x 200 mm on the desk and 451 mm tall with its handles.
A 200 mm depth is fine for a Beelink EQ14 (126 mm), an ASUS NUC 14 Pro (112 mm), a Lenovo ThinkCentre Tiny (about 183 mm) or a stack of Raspberry Pis. A compact switch like the TP-Link Omada ES210X-M2 (126 mm deep) also sits on a shelf with room to spare. Every 2-bay NAS in the fit table below runs 230 mm or deeper, so none of them fit.
Plenty of 10-inch accessories on Amazon name the T1 and T0 in their listings, and the 200 mm shelves from DeskPi are made for exactly this depth. It sold for about $120 on Amazon in October 2026 with over 300 reviews. Skip it if a NAS is anywhere in your plans, since the T1 Plus costs about $20 more and saves you buying a second rack.
4. DeskPi RackMate T0
For a desk with no spare room, the T0 is the smallest RackMate worth buying, and it’s the only one whose published packing list includes a 1U tray and a blank panel. At 4U, 281 x 200 x 274 mm and 3.12 kg, it sits next to a monitor without taking over the desk.
Four units is 177.8 mm of mounting height, which sounds like a lot until you start counting. A 1U switch, a 0.5U patch panel and two mini PCs on a 2U shelf leave you half a unit spare, and a Minisforum MS-01 at 48 mm tall already needs more than 1U. Treat the T0 as a tidy home for a router, a switch and one or two nodes, not the start of a cluster.
Amazon had it at about $72 in October 2026. DeskPi also sells a 260 mm deep T0 Plus, but its Amazon listing showed a future availability date rather than stock in late October 2026, so it is left out of the picks.
5. DeskPi RackMate T2
Buy the T2 when you already know 8U won’t last. It stacks 12U into a 281 x 260 mm footprint, stands 629 mm tall with its handle and keeps the 212 mm rail width and 260 mm shelves of the T1 Plus.
Twelve units hold a three-node mini PC cluster, a 2-bay NAS, a switch, a patch panel and a power strip, with space left for an IP-KVM. You could take the build in the Proxmox mini PC guide all the way to three nodes in this frame. A loaded T2 is too tall to sit under most wall shelves and gets top-heavy, so put the NAS and any UPS at the bottom.
- Pick it if: you are running three or more nodes plus storage.
- Where it falls short: only about $10 more than a T1 Plus for 4U extra, but it won’t fit on a typical desk under a shelf.
We saw it at about $150 on Amazon in October 2026. A second T2 listing (B0DT2XM22G) showed only one unit left, so use the main listing linked here.
6. DIGITUS DN-10-06U-B
Pick the DIGITUS when the rack goes on a wall, or when you want a load rating in writing. You get a 6U steel cabinet with a lockable glass door, side panels and depth-adjustable 10-inch rails, and DIGITUS rates it for 30 kg.
Its datasheet gives a maximum install depth of 240 mm, which clears a DS224+ or DXP2800 by under 10 mm and rules out a 4-bay NAS. DIGITUS uses cage nuts rather than the threaded holes on a RackMate, so check the fasteners on any shelf you buy. At 7 kg empty it weighs more than twice as much as a T0, which is the price of steel up to 1.5 mm thick.
It was the cheapest frame here at about $56 on Amazon in October 2026. We would skip it on a desk, though. The door, the boxy look and the missing handles make it a closet or hallway rack, and airflow through a closed glass door is worse than through any open RackMate.
Which mini PCs and NAS units fit a 10-inch rack
Width almost never rules a device out, but depth and height often do. We checked each device against the roughly 210 mm between rails, the 200 mm shelves of the T0 and T1, and the 260 mm shelves of the Plus models and T2. Sizes are the maker’s published figures, except the rows marked * which come from reviews. “Fits” is measured against the 260 mm external depth, since DeskPi publishes no usable internal depth for its 260 mm frames, so treat a 25 to 30 mm margin as the minimum.
| Device | W x D x H (mm) | 200 mm racks (T0, T1) | 260 mm racks (T1 Plus, T2) | Shelf space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beelink EQ14 | 126 x 126 x 39 | Fits | Fits | 1U |
| ASUS NUC 14 Pro (slim)* | 117 x 112 x 37 | Fits | Fits | 1U |
| Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 5 Tiny* | about 179 x 183 x 37 | Fits, little cable room | Fits | 1U |
| Minisforum MS-01 / MS-A2* | 196 x 189 x 48 | Fits, cables overhang | Fits | 2U |
| UniFi Cloud Gateway Ultra | 141.8 x 127.6 x 30 | Fits | Fits | 1U |
| TP-Link Omada ES210X-M2 | 209 x 126 x 26 | Fits, barely on width | Fits | 1U |
| MikroTik CRS310-8G+2S+IN | 200 x 206.1 x 44 | Sticks out the back | Fits with RMK-2/10 ears | 1U |
| Synology DS224+ | 108 x 232.2 x 165 | No | Fits, about 28 mm spare | 5U with the shelf |
| UGREEN DXP2800 | 109 x 231 x 178 | No | Fits, about 29 mm spare | 5U with the shelf |
| UGREEN DXP4800 Plus | 178 x 257 x 178 | No | No, 3 mm spare | 5U with the shelf |
Two rows catch people out. UGREEN lists the DXP2800 at 7.0 inches tall, which is 177.8 mm, exactly 4U, so on paper it fits in four units. The shelf it sits on has its own thickness, though, and you’ll lose a fifth unit. An MS-01 is 48 mm tall, more than 1U (44.45 mm), so each one costs you 2U of shelf space, and at 196 mm wide you can’t put two side by side.
If you have not bought the storage yet, the mini PC NAS build is one way around the depth problem altogether.
What to check before you buy a 10-inch rack
Five measurements decide whether a 10-inch rack works for your gear, and the listing photos show none of them. Check each one against the deepest and tallest thing you own before you order.
- Depth first: add 25 to 40 mm to your deepest device for cables, then pick 200 mm or 260 mm shelves.
- Height in mm, not U: divide each device’s height by 44.45 and round up, then add a unit for every shelf.
- Width of 210 mm: plan on that between the rails; only a few frames stretch to about 220 mm.
- Fasteners: RackMates take #10-32 screws, DIGITUS uses cage nuts and Waveshare’s HomeRack uses M4, so shelves do not always swap.
- Load rating: only DIGITUS rates its cabinet, so in a RackMate put heavy gear low on the 25 kg heavy-duty shelf.
Power is the one nobody thinks about until the rack is full. VirtualizationHowto’s hands-on found no purpose-built 10-inch rackmount UPS, so most builds run a DC PDU or a strip zip-tied to the frame, and the mini rack power guide covers the options. If your list has outgrown 12U, or your NAS is a 4-bay box, we’d look at a 19-inch frame from the homelab server rack guide before buying a second mini rack.
Where each 10-inch rack falls short
None of these frames is perfect, and the weak spot is usually the one the listing does not mention. Use the list to rule out the one that would annoy you most.
- T1 Plus: 8U runs out once a NAS takes its share, and older 200 mm T1 shelves don’t fit.
- TL1: no sides and no trays in the box, so the real price is higher than the sticker.
- T1: 200 mm deep, which shuts out every 2-bay NAS.
- T0: 4U is a switch and two nodes, nothing more.
- T2: 629 mm tall and top-heavy when loaded.
- DIGITUS: 240 mm install depth and a closed door that holds heat.
Still torn? Let your deepest device choose. Under about 175 mm, the T1 is enough. Up to about 235 mm, buy the T1 Plus, the TL1 or the T2, and anything deeper has outgrown the 10-inch format. Once the frame arrives, the shelves and panels that fit a 10-inch rack are the next thing to sort out.





