Dev

13 Best Java Programming Books for 2026 (Java 21 and 25)

This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

The best Java books in 2026 are the ones written for Java 25, because Java 25 is the current long-term support release. Oracle also says updates of its own JDK 21 builds are planned to move from its permissive license to the OTN license starting with the October 2026 patch, which gives teams on Oracle JDK a reason to move up. Amazon still sells the 2005 edition of Head First Java, which predates records and virtual threads, and Core Java’s 13th edition stops at Java 21 and cost more than the 14th when we checked.

Original content from computingforgeeks.com - post 77777

This list covers thirteen Java programming books: two for beginners, the Core Java pair, the books that make you write Java well, and picks for concurrency, performance, troubleshooting, testing and Spring Boot. Each pick names the Java version it targets where the publisher states one, because that is what ages a Java book. For language-agnostic craft books, see our best programming books list. Editions, prices and stock below were checked against Amazon’s live catalog and the publishers’ own pages in October 2026.

Pick a Java book by your goal

Most developers need two books: one to learn the language and one that shows how good Java is written. Start from what you need right now:

Install a current JDK before you start, because a book’s examples are only as new as the compiler you feed them to. We cover the OpenJDK install on Ubuntu and the same on Rocky Linux and AlmaLinux.

How these Java books were chosen

A plain Amazon search for Java programming returns pages of short self-published guides, so we started from the publishers’ catalogs instead (Oracle Press, Addison-Wesley, O’Reilly, Manning, McGraw Hill, Apress, Pragmatic Bookshelf, Packt) and kept a book only if it met all of these:

  • the current edition is in print and buyable new on Amazon
  • the publisher or Amazon description says what it covers, which we read for every pick
  • it states, or its cover states, the Java version it targets, or we say plainly when it does not
  • it fills a different job from the other picks

Contents come from InformIT, Manning, PragProg and Springer where those pages were readable, and from the publisher descriptions on Amazon for the O’Reilly, McGraw Hill and Packt titles, whose own pages blocked us or carried no description. We did not read all thirteen cover to cover for this update, so the notes below stick to what the publishers state and what each edition’s date tells you. Prices are what Amazon showed when we checked and move often.

Compare the best Java books

The whole list, side by side. The Java column is the version the publisher or the cover names, and Not stated means the book does not name one:

BookBest forJava versionPagesPublished
Head First Java, 3rd EdBeginnersJava 8 to 17752Jun 2022
Java: A Beginner’s Guide, 10th EdBeginnersJava SE 21768Mar 2024
Core Java Vol I, 14th EdWorking developersThrough Java 25816Oct 2025
Core Java Vol II, 14th EdAdvanced APIsJava 25944Oct 2025
Effective Java, 3rd EdWriting better JavaThrough Java 9416Dec 2017
Java in a Nutshell, 9th EdDesk referenceThrough Java 25535Oct 2026
Java 25 and BeyondUpgrading from 17 or 21Java 17 to 25425Jun 2026
Modern Concurrency in JavaVirtual threadsJava 21 and later334Oct 2025
The Well-Grounded Java Developer, 2nd EdJVM internals, toolingJava 11 and 17704Nov 2022
Optimizing Cloud Native Java, 2nd EdPerformance tuningNot stated494Nov 2024
Troubleshooting Java, 2nd EdDebugging, profilingNot stated360Nov 2025
Pragmatic Unit Testing in Java with JUnit, 3rd EdTestingJava 21 or later298Dec 2024
Learning Spring Boot 4, 4th EdSpring BootSpring Boot 4538Jul 2026

Page counts and dates are Amazon’s print listings. Read the Java column first: three picks were published before Java 21, so virtual threads and the final form of pattern matching for switch arrived after they were written, and the notes below say where that matters.

1. Head First Java

Pick this one if dense textbooks put you to sleep, because it teaches through puzzles, pictures and mock interviews with Java objects. You still cover real ground, so it works as a first book rather than a warm-up.

Head First Java 3rd Edition by Kathy Sierra, Bert Bates and Trisha Gee book cover
Head First Java, 3rd Edition by Kathy Sierra, Bert Bates and Trisha Gee. Image: O’Reilly Media.

Amazon’s description lists lambdas, streams, generics, threading, networking and desktop GUI work alongside the object basics, and Trisha Gee joined the original authors for this edition. The cover says it covers Java 8 to 17. The description does not confirm whether records and sealed classes are covered, and virtual threads and pattern matching for switch became final in Java 21, after this edition.

Watch the edition, because Amazon still lists the 2005 second edition for a lot less and it teaches Java from before lambdas existed. If cartoons and repetition annoy you, the Schildt book below is the plain-textbook alternative. The third edition sold for around $44 on Amazon (list $79.99) when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

2. Java: A Beginner’s Guide

Herbert Schildt’s beginner book is the textbook route, with self-tests, exercises and downloadable code samples, according to the publisher copy on Amazon. The tenth edition was updated by Danny Coward for Java SE 21.

Java A Beginner's Guide Tenth Edition by Herbert Schildt and Danny Coward book cover
Java: A Beginner’s Guide, Tenth Edition by Herbert Schildt and Danny Coward. Image: McGraw Hill.

It starts with compiling and running your first program and works up to multithreading, generics, lambda expressions, modules and Swing, and the same publisher copy says it explains the language changes from JDK 18 through JDK 21. That makes it the newest beginner book on this list by Java version.

You give up two things: Head First’s hand-holding, and anything after Java 21, because the book targets Java SE 21 and Java 25 additions such as compact source files are outside its scope. If you later want the full desk-sized version from the same authors, Java: The Complete Reference, Thirteenth Edition runs 1,280 pages on Java SE 21; Amazon’s stock of it was low when we checked. Expect to pay around $29 (list $40), the price Amazon showed when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

3. Core Java, Volume I: Fundamentals

Pearson writes Cay Horstmann’s Core Java for experienced programmers, and the 14th edition is updated through Java 25. If you already program in another language and want Java properly, start here instead of a beginner book.

Core Java Volume I Fundamentals 14th Edition by Cay S. Horstmann book cover
Core Java, Volume I: Fundamentals, 14th Edition by Cay S. Horstmann. Image: Oracle Press / Pearson.

The InformIT table of contents shows what changed since the older editions: a section on records inside the objects and classes chapter, a pattern matching section in the inheritance chapter, and a concurrency chapter that covers both platform and virtual threads. Generics, collections, annotations and the module system each get their own chapter.

Horstmann writes for people who already know how to program, so a true beginner will find the pace hard. Check the cover before you pay, because the 13th edition from 2024 is still listed, and it cost more than this one when we checked. The 14th edition was around $76 (list $89.99) on Amazon when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

4. Core Java, Volume II: Advanced Features

Volume II picks up where Volume I stops and covers the APIs you meet in real projects. Pearson says it was revised for the Java 25 long-term support release.

Core Java Volume II Advanced Features 14th Edition by Cay S. Horstmann book cover
Core Java, Volume II: Advanced Features, 14th Edition by Cay S. Horstmann. Image: Oracle Press / Pearson.

Its chapters cover the APIs most backend code touches, and Pearson’s description flags the Class File API and the foreign function and memory APIs as new:

  • streams, including the stream gatherers added in Java 24
  • input and output, XML and networking
  • database programming and the date and time API
  • internationalization and security
  • the Foreign Function and Memory API
  • the Class File API for generating code

Buy it after Volume I, not instead of it. About a third of its 944 pages go to GUI programming and Swing, so a backend developer pays for chapters they may never open, and you can borrow those from a library instead. Volume II was around $75 (list $89.99) when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

5. Effective Java

Joshua Bloch’s book does not teach Java; it teaches you to write it well. Every chapter is a set of numbered items, each a short essay on what to do, what to avoid and why.

Effective Java Third Edition by Joshua Bloch book cover
Effective Java, Third Edition by Joshua Bloch. Image: Addison-Wesley / Pearson.

Bloch’s chapters include creating objects, the methods every class inherits, generics, enums and annotations, lambdas and streams, method design, exceptions, concurrency and serialization. InformIT says the coverage is through Java 9, so the book predates records, sealed classes and virtual threads; the advice on object creation, API design and exceptions is what you buy it for.

Our links go to the Kindle edition of the same third edition on purpose. When we checked, the paperback’s Amazon buy box flipped between a third-party new copy and a used one with one left, so if you want print, check the seller and condition on the paperback offer before you pay. Amazon sold the Kindle edition at around $42 when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

6. Java in a Nutshell

The ninth edition of Java in a Nutshell came out in October 2026 and covers the language through Java 25. Keep it on the desk for looking things up fast, without wading through a tutorial.

Java in a Nutshell 9th Edition by Benjamin J. Evans, Jason Clark and David Flanagan book cover
Java in a Nutshell, 9th Edition by Benjamin J. Evans, Jason Clark and David Flanagan. Image: O’Reilly Media.

Its first half is a fast introduction to the language and the runtime, and the second half covers the core APIs. Amazon’s description adds a new chapter on Java 25’s compact source files and instance main methods, plus sealed types, records, virtual threads and the OpenJDK tools.

O’Reilly writes it first for experienced programmers, with a learning path for new developers, so pair it with a beginner book if you are starting out. The print listing on Amazon is the paperback (ASIN B0GZ7986BP); a separate Kindle edition carries a different page count. The paperback was around $58 (list $69.99) when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

7. Java 25 and Beyond

If you are upgrading from Java 17 or 21 and want to know what changed, Michael Inden’s book is built for exactly that. Springer says it walks from Java 17 LTS to Java 25 LTS and covers features added from version 12 onward.

Java 25 and Beyond Modern Java Made Easy by Michael Inden book cover
Java 25 and Beyond: Modern Java Made Easy by Michael Inden. Image: Apress.

You get the features you meet in a modern codebase: switch expressions, records, text blocks, pattern matching and record patterns, stream gatherers, virtual threads and structured concurrency. Springer says it includes exercises with detailed sample solutions.

Springer aims it at readers already proficient in Java, so it is not a first book. You also get what is new rather than the whole language, which means pairing it with Core Java if you need both. It sold for around $55 (list $64.99) when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

8. Modern Concurrency in Java

Virtual threads, final since Java 21, are the reason to buy a newer concurrency book, and this one covers them in depth. A N M Bazlur Rahman wrote it around Java 21’s Project Loom work.

Modern Concurrency in Java by A N M Bazlur Rahman book cover
Modern Concurrency in Java by A N M Bazlur Rahman. Image: O’Reilly Media.

Amazon’s description covers how virtual threads are built, the ForkJoinPool and continuations underneath them, rate limiting, debugging and monitoring, and where reactive Java still fits. It also covers structured concurrency and scoped values. Scoped values became final in JDK 25, while structured concurrency remains a preview API as of JDK 27, so expect that chapter’s APIs to shift between releases.

The publisher says it takes you from Java 1.0 to Project Loom, so the history comes with it, which helps if you learned threads before virtual threads existed. Amazon showed low stock on it when we checked, so the price below may move. Price when we checked: around $44 (list $64.99). Check the current price on Amazon.

9. The Well-Grounded Java Developer

Read this once you know the syntax and want to understand the platform under it. Manning describes it as going down to the bytecode level.

The Well-Grounded Java Developer Second Edition by Benjamin Evans, Jason Clark and Martijn Verburg book cover
The Well-Grounded Java Developer, Second Edition by Benjamin Evans, Jason Clark and Martijn Verburg. Image: Manning.

Manning lists the module system, JVM performance tuning, getting more out of Maven and Gradle, running the JVM in containers, and chapters on Kotlin and Clojure. If your build tooling is still a mystery, our Maven install guide is a good companion to that chapter. If the Kotlin chapter has you thinking about a second JVM language, our best Kotlin books guide covers nine 2026 picks, including a whole refactoring guidebook for moving from Java to Kotlin.

Its first chapters cover Java 11 and 17, and its Future Java chapter covers Project Loom as a feature that had not yet arrived, because the book was written before virtual threads went final in Java 21 (Amazon lists the print edition as November 2022). Read it for how the JVM works and take the current features from Core Java. Manning’s second edition was around $59 on Amazon (list $69.99) when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

10. Optimizing Cloud Native Java

Ben Evans and James Gough treat performance tuning as measurement, not folklore. This second edition moves the focus to Java applications running in containers and the cloud.

Optimizing Cloud Native Java Second Edition by Benjamin J. Evans and James Gough book cover
Optimizing Cloud Native Java, Second Edition by Benjamin J. Evans and James Gough. Image: O’Reilly Media.

O’Reilly’s Amazon blurb covers how Java uses modern hardware and operating systems, the traps in microbenchmarking, packaging and debugging JVM applications in cloud environments, and observability. It is written for intermediate to advanced developers.

If your service has no performance problem yet, this can wait, because tuning without a measured problem is exactly the guesswork the authors argue against. Amazon showed low stock on it when we checked. It was around $47 (list $69.99) when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

11. Troubleshooting Java

Manning’s pitch for Laurentiu Spilca’s book is that you spend more time reading and fixing code than writing it, and the book is about that part of the job. Amazon lists the second edition as November 2025.

Troubleshooting Java Second Edition by Laurentiu Spilca book cover
Troubleshooting Java, Second Edition by Laurentiu Spilca. Image: Manning.

Manning lists debugger techniques, reading and writing useful logs, profiling, finding slow SQL queries, analysing heap dumps for memory leaks and thread dumps for deadlocks, using tools such as the IntelliJ IDEA debugger and VisualVM. This edition adds AI-assisted log analysis. If you work in IntelliJ, our IntelliJ IDEA setup on Ubuntu gets the debugger running.

Manning aims it at intermediate developers who already ship Java, so you should know the language before you open it. Amazon had it at around $60 when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

12. Pragmatic Unit Testing in Java with JUnit

Jeff Langr’s book is a short, practical way to learn unit tests your team will keep. The third edition was rewritten with new examples and a chapter on testing AI-generated code.

Pragmatic Unit Testing in Java with JUnit Third Edition by Jeff Langr book cover
Pragmatic Unit Testing in Java with JUnit, Third Edition by Jeff Langr. Image: Pragmatic Bookshelf.

PragProg’s table of contents runs from your first JUnit test through mocks with Mockito, organising and running tests, refactoring, test smells and test-driven development. That chapter on AI covers keeping generated code honest with tests.

PragProg says you need JDK 21 or higher to run the examples, so upgrade an older JDK before you start. Amazon showed low stock on it when we checked, which is why the price can jump. The print edition was around $54 when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

13. Learning Spring Boot 4

If your Java work runs on Spring, this fourth edition is current with Spring Boot 4. It starts with a simple app and takes it through security, testing and deployment to production.

Learning Spring Boot 4 Fourth Edition book cover from Packt
Learning Spring Boot 4, 4th Edition by Wanderson Xesquevixos, Ranga Rao Karanam, Magnus Larsson and Greg L. Turnquist. Image: Packt.

Amazon’s table of contents covers web and API apps, data, security, testing, configuration, native images, reactive controllers, virtual threads in Spring, messaging, observability and Spring AI, with a closing chapter on what changed in Spring Boot 4.

You need working Java first, so read one of the core books before this. For more Spring titles, see our Spring Boot book guide. The fourth edition sold for around $47 (list $59.99) when we checked. Check the current price on Amazon.

Match the book to your JDK version

A Java book is only as current as the last release it covers, and the features that define modern Java landed between Java 15 and Java 25. This table shows when each one became final, checked against the JEP pages on openjdk.org, and which picks name it in their descriptions:

FeatureFinal inPicks that cover it
Text blocksJava 15Java 25 and Beyond
RecordsJava 16Core Java I, Java in a Nutshell, Java 25 and Beyond
Sealed classesJava 17Core Java I, Java in a Nutshell
Pattern matching for switch, record patternsJava 21Core Java I, Java 25 and Beyond
Virtual threadsJava 21Core Java I, Java in a Nutshell, Java 25 and Beyond, Modern Concurrency in Java, Learning Spring Boot 4
Stream gatherersJava 24Core Java II, Java 25 and Beyond
Compact source files and instance main methodsJava 25Java in a Nutshell
Scoped valuesJava 25Modern Concurrency in Java

Structured concurrency is missing from that table on purpose: it is still a preview feature as of JDK 27, so any book’s chapter on it describes an API that can still change. Before you buy any Java book, including ones not on this list, check three things on the listing:

  • the Java version in the title, subtitle or description
  • the edition number and publication year against the publisher’s site
  • who sells it, because a third-party seller can mean a used copy or a long wait

Choose between Java 21 and Java 25 books

Buy for Java 25 if you can. It is the current long-term support release, and Oracle’s Java SE support roadmap says updates of Oracle JDK 21 are planned to move to the OTN license from the October 2026 patch, which gives Oracle JDK shops a reason to migrate. Core Java Volume I, Java in a Nutshell and Java 25 and Beyond all cover it.

A Java 21 book is still a sound buy, because 21 is also a long-term support release and everything in it carries forward. The beginner books sit there: Schildt covers Java SE 21, and Head First stops at 17, which is fine for learning the language itself. Avoid anything that stops at Java 8 or 11 unless it is Effective Java, whose advice outlived its version. Oracle’s planned next long-term support release is Java 29 in September 2027, so the Java 25 books on this list should stay current until then.

Keep reading

Upgrade Ubuntu 24.04 to Ubuntu 26.04 LTS (Step by Step) Ubuntu Upgrade Ubuntu 24.04 to Ubuntu 26.04 LTS (Step by Step) UFW Firewall Commands with Examples on Ubuntu 26.04 / 24.04 Security UFW Firewall Commands with Examples on Ubuntu 26.04 / 24.04 How to Upgrade Fedora 44 to Fedora 45 (GUI, CLI and Rollback) Fedora How to Upgrade Fedora 44 to Fedora 45 (GUI, CLI and Rollback) Upgrade a Single Package on Ubuntu / Debian with apt Debian Upgrade a Single Package on Ubuntu / Debian with apt CapRover Docker Install on Debian 13: Deploy Your First App Containers CapRover Docker Install on Debian 13: Deploy Your First App Best Thunderbolt 4 Dock for Linux: boltctl and fwupd Setup How To Best Thunderbolt 4 Dock for Linux: boltctl and fwupd Setup

Leave a Comment

Press ESC to close